Fourth week at USA TODAY

Last week was my last one at USA TODAY. Here’s a recap:

Monday

I wrote a tip list for the USA TODAY interns Tumblr about business cards and free deals.

Tuesday

Vine vs. Instagram? Instagram vs. Vine?

Alex,  the social media marketing intern, and I had a video sharing platform debate on Vine and Instagram. The debate is silly and was really fun to film. It’s been incredible to be able to experiment and try out these platforms. We were allowed to be goofy, show our personality and experiment with new social media.

Check out the debate:

Wednesday

Wednesday Alex and I went to the Supreme Court to cover reactions to the gay marriage ruling. We used Twitter, Vine and Instagram to share the scene and mood at the court. It was so exciting to be at the Court, on the ground, covering unfolding reactions. Follow at @mchertock and @alexlaughs.

Here’s a Storify page of my coverage.

Earlier in the week, I also wrote a post for the main Tumblr about the cross-section between poetry and news. They are my two loves. It was posted on Wednesday.

Thursday

My last day was Thursday because I had to drive down to North Carolina to be in my friend’s wedding. We had a lovely farewell picnic outside by the lake, complete with donuts and cupcakes (they were delicious). I wrote a mobile reporting tip list (which went up today on the intern Tumblr) and scheduled a bunch of weekend content Tweets and LinkedIn and Google+ posts. I’m waiting to post my summer stargazing sidebar when it is published, so check back for the link.

This was my last week interning at USA TODAY. It has been amazing experience. I am also excited to begin my MDDC Reese Cleghorn internship with The Gazette, starting in July. Check back for more updates!

Tags: , ,

About Marlena Chertock

Marlena Chertock's first collection of poetry, On that one-way trip to Mars, is available from Bottlecap Press. Her articles have appeared in The Washington Post, Marketplace, and WTOP. Her poems and fiction has appeared in The Deaf Poets Society, Moonsick Magazine, and Paper Darts.

Leave a Reply

